AutoPage Cellular = #FAIL

fail1

In September 2008 after been notified by MTN-SP that I was due for an upgrade on my cell phone contract I decided to “PORT” to AutoPage due to their fantastic specials, apparent fantastic service etc.

I called an Agent at their Cape Town office whose name I will not mention at this current time, and explained my situation that I was “DUE” for an upgrade and asked if I would be able to port to them or if so when could I. The response I got was “Our Porting Department has given the GREEN light Bruce so you can port right away!” I opted to be ported at the end of the billing cycle for the month to not end up with 2 bills one from MTN-SP and then one from AUTOPAIN… sorry AutoPage and this was agreed on.

I was called a few days later to be told I could collect my new phone and drove through to their offices! Really awesome setup they have and I was well impressed! I was met by my “unnamed agent” really cool to meet him then.. blah blah!

End of the month arrives, 2 bills in the post, 2 debit orders run off… I call AutoPage to find out what has happened, no one is interested to assist! I get transferred from department to department, and this goes on for a few days! I logged calls, got reference numbers the whole toot… still nothing!

Eventually, I call MTN-SP, and ask why they billing me, and I am told because I am still in my 24 month contract period, that I knew I would be, but was told / informed otherwise! MTN-SP, who I left and now regret explained the whole process to me with in minutes saying that this is not this first time this has happened and I should have been informed by AutoPage of the double billing until the end of my current contract with MTN-SP!

After calling my agent, leaving messages, I get an email saying THIS IS NOT RIGHT and the porting people are to blame and he will sort this out, time goes on, days pass, frustration sets in and nothing! I eventually pic up the phone AGAIN call my agent, and leave messages for him as he is busy! Days pass on…

Eventually I get an email from him stating some facts from a Telephone conversation in the beginning that they pulled from the records to try cover themselves… NICE TRY…. I asked for copies, and was sent 1 call from many calls… what about the others! I Said im sorry this is not good enough and they “Sorry we do not see any error from our side”

Eventually they agree to give me a credit for 1 months billing on their side, which was in November 08…. Feb 09 im still waiting…. I have called many many times, left many many messages and email… I got a call this AM from the Regional Sales Manager who was shocked, and has assured me this will be looked at again, but to be honest… im so tired of promises from them.. Lies and false information… best of all this is not the first bad blog write up about them.

If you thinking of moving to AutoPage.. Think again… please… rather stick with who you got! And don’t let the little extras like a WII or PS3 tempt you.. Rather buy one because you will end up paying more then you think!

How hard is it to fix a problem like this on their side, they make Millions of Rands off us! All I wanted was an Apology and some insight to what had happened… funny thing was, After Collecting my Stuff, I even wrote a Happy Letter to them from their Contact form on their website! I got responses then.. On complaints… NOTHING! Weird? I think NOT!

Another Auto Page Rant

2 Responses to “AutoPage Cellular = #FAIL”

  1. It’s good to see someone else is speaking out against these unethical liars.

    I’m livid with Autopage Cellular / Supercall (or Supercrap, as I refer to them). They abused my debit order facility around 2 years ago by charging me way above the actual cost incurred on my account and they did it 3 times! Not once did I receive an apology, or courteous follow-up. I had to revert to emailing the CEO and demanding that they no longer had the legal right to debit off my account. Presto, today I notice they’ve debited off my account, after having paid them via EFT after that fiasco for some time. I ported away from them in January. Sharks!

    What irritated me even more, was an article in Brainstorm magazine where their CEO boasted about Supercall Cellular (now part of Autopage Cellular) being the “Investec” of the cellular providers in SA in terms of customer service etc. Absolutely not!

    • Altech Autopage as a company has no service ethic and clearly is more concerned with penny pinching than providing a service. they must be saving billions by having a customer careline that answers by recording rather than competent agents.
      Ever tried to get through, ever tried the 086 number? Don’t bother if you’re really in a tight spot.
      My handset was stolen on a saturday morning in cape town city center – no answer at customer services at all…eventually I had to drive to canal walk to get my handset blacklisted and a sim swop – I’m still waiting three days later for it to be effected and still no itc no – the no needed for a case number and insurance.

      Today, Monday I’ve callied the branch at canal walk and various other branches, not to mention all weekend , to get the itc no and to ask when I can expect the new sim card to work.
      As for service over the weekend there is none, today all agents said they’d get back to me, but didn’t eventually at 6.30 one admitted service is bad and that there is a problem but doesn’t know what – never mind blacklisting my handset or effecting the sim swop, that’s really a monumentally impossible task for even the poor ineffective staff at all the various branches I’ve dealt with.
      And again, just tried customer services, avery friendly recording once again…

      No service from autopage cellular seems like the only service available.

      As for Craig Venter, the ceo, I suggest he focusses on effectively running the business he heads, rather than spin-doctoring the merits of a service providing company clearly not in the business of providing service.

      I have been with Altech Autopage for 10 years, thinking better the devil you know…I will not renew the contract.

Leave a comment